So Much for the tears…

Tonight, I went with a very good friend to see “The Shack”.  The premise of the movie, if you don’t know, is a man that faced a tragedy is invited to spend the weekend with God.  God is represented as 3 different people- God the Father, God the Son (Jesus) and God the Spirit (Holy Spirit).   It was a well done movie, and watching the previews it looked like a movie that would give me the good solid, hard cry I needed.

But as I watched the movie and the minutes ticked by not a tear came.  Not even a sniffle.  But when I saw the preview of the movie I felt a call on my heart to see it. I NEEDED to see it. I think the reason I couldn’t cry, and the reason I had to see the movie is that I needed to see the story of this man, of what his pain did to him, of what stuffing his emotions down did to him.  I need to spend some time thinking about this movie, trying to understand what happened to him through the process of the movie. I am struggling with a lot of the same emotions.

Unresolved pain and heartache from childhood, not understanding God’s plan, not understanding why God “allows” things to happen.

I am working on figuring out how to “trust” God, to believe that God is good, that God is good to me.

There is a lot I need to think about, a lot I need to work through and this movie may have left me with more questions than answers but I think that might, just might, be a good thing.

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

One thought on “So Much for the tears…”

Leave a Reply

