Labels

How do you label yourself?  

For me it’s usually: 

Fat, ugly, failure, depressed, anxious, grumpy, irritated, impatient, tired, busy, lazy, indifferent, numb. 

But then today at co-op a mom basically told me teaching was my calling. I sent her a message thanking her because I hadn’t wanted to go to co op and her saying that made my day.  Her response was a label she gave me:

“I truly see a gifted teacher. We r blessed that these kiddos have you. ”

Gifted teacher.  Not one I would have given myself.  I rarely have anything nice to say about myself, and I’m not even sure I believe her because I rarely feel like I am doing a good job when teaching these kids.  But her comment at the time made me feel a little less blue, and a little less like I didn’t want to be there. Maybe I’m not a complete failure at everything?

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

