I really do have some wonderful people in my life…

Last night I got a text that would normally leave me screaming Noooooo into the phone.

Friend: Want to go to lunch with me In Big surrounding city? Early birthday…and shopping at Goodwill for some clothes that fit you?

But because of who it was- my best friend, who knows my crazy, who loves me anyway, doesn’t give me unsolicited advice, or platitudes, or tell me to get over it or open a window.  She lets me be me and doesn’t judge me.  So I said yes, of course!

I am incredibly blessed to have her in my life.  She knew what Tuesday may bring and she wanted to make sure I had a good birthday.  She probably has no idea how much that meant to me. A simple lunch, waiting while I tied on at least 40 things at goodwill and then took me out for ice cream.

She spent her whole afternoon making sure my day was wonderful.  Today I can say I enjoyed myself for the first time in a very long time.

No, my depression isn’t cured, my anxiety bubbled below the surface, my OCD rituals stayed with me, but the black cloud that follows me around that prevents me from enjoying anything wasn’t able to keep up.  It was nice to find myself out of my own head even if it was just for a little while.  I don’t know if she will ever know how much today meant to me. 

That will definitely be on my list of good things for Pollyanna today.

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

