The First Day of my 40th year. 

It’s my 39th birthday.  I start my 40th year today. I woke up with a PTSD memory/Intrusive thought. 

Every time my dad saw this picture he would comment on what a “homely” baby I was. What an ugly baby I was.  Homely. Ugly. Labels I still carry inside me. Labels I still assign myself. 

Happy birthday to that baby up there.  If she were mine I would cuddle her, coo to her, tell her how much I love her and how beautiful she is.  Maybe, maybe someday I can do that for me. 

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

