Can you ever really outrun your demons?

That small sentence in my last post has me wondering. Will I ever?  Can we ever outrun the demons of our past or will we have to stop, turn around and fight them? And if I have to fight them, will I win- or will they? My demons are large, looming, and scary.  Some of them decades old- some even older than me really- others just young things but spry and strong nonetheless.  And it seems they have reverse aging of me.  The older I get the stronger they are.  The weaker I am the stronger they are.  

I keep running, daring a peek over my shoulder to see the twisted disfigured faces chasing me.  Sometimes quickly I even get a glimpse of me- chasing me. I run faster. I can’t let them catch me, they will overwhelm me I can’t fight them all.  There are too many, and I too weak.

I don’t know how this race? Fight? War? Will end, but no war ends without casualties, without collateral damage.  Who will suffer from this race/fight/war? Who will be the victor?

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

2 thoughts on “Can you ever really outrun your demons?”

  1. 2 Corinthians 12:09, “But He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

