Does medical intervention = Healthy?

As I get ready to head to my physical therapy appointment that I have in an hour, then almost immediately head to my counseling appointment then my medication management appointment, and my husband heads to the orthopedic doctor, and tomorrow I head to the Chiropractor again, I can’t help but wonder if all this medical intervention is helping us, or just causing more upheaval and running around in our lives.  It seems like we are always at a doctor, or getting a new pill, or a new exercise, or new homework assignment.  To what end?

Will all these appointments bring us to healthy? Will they help or hurt more? The doctors, therapists etc are all well-meaning, but really, is all this headed anywhere? I know my husband is no better off than he was 3 years ago when he started his journey with trying to figure out what’s wrong with him and getting treatment. I have had this hip trouble over a year, anxiety and depression decades- I’ve tried several therapists in the past, and I’ve never been able to outrun my demons.

I guess I am just in a thoughtful mood today as we both face a day full of appointments meant to help us, and get us well wondering if I wouldn’t be better under a blanket fort hiding out with junk food and trash TV.

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

