Easter – A Promise Fulfilled 

Easter is a promise fulfilled.  When the women found the stone moved, and Jesus’ tomb empty on that first Easter morning It signified that Jesus had in fact conquered death.  He had atoned for all of my sins and all of your sins by his perfect blood being spilled on the cross, and had risen from the grave giving us all the gift of eternal life with Him.

As a Christian this promise brings me comfort and peace, knowing that God loved ME and YOU and everyone on this planet enough to send His Son to this world as a human, to live a human (sinless human at that) life, and to suffer the fate of a crucifixion at the hands of the very people He came to save, and He did it willingly.

I share this message of Good News for those who don’t know it, because as soon as you know it, and accept it you too get to enjoy eternal life with Jesus. But I also share it because sometimes I too need to be reminded that despite all the crappy things that happen here on Earth, all the things I suffer through and with, that every good and bad thing, in the end, won’t matter, because someday Jesus and I will stand face to face, some day I will walk into His presence.  I imagine that I will walk into His room, and I will see Him, arms open and He will say to me, “I’ve been waiting for you”.  And at that moment all this stuff that happened here on Earth, every little bit of pain, suffering, joy, and happiness I will understand it.

I have to try to remember these things on the hardest days, on the days when I think the pain will swallow me whole.  When the fear from the anxiety has me shaking with fear and I don’t know how I will go on. I remember that there is One, who loves me, who loved me before I was even a vapor of air.  That He will wrap His arms around me and comfort me.

But like any situation there is an enemy to contend with.  This enemy has been around since the days of Adam and Eve, and he is cunning.  He is brilliant.  He knows how to hurt you, he knows your weaknesses and how to exploit them.  He also works harder where and when he knows God is working in your life.

God is doing some major work in our lives, and so the enemy is working overtime, he’s working on me, making my depression, anxiety, OCD and PTSD make me feel alone, make me feel worthless.  But God, through the Holy Spirit has made it clear to me that walking through this journey though all of this I will come out whole the way He always intended me to be.  And He will walk with me on this journey.

The enemy is working in my family with my husbands health and our financial troubles stemming from that. But We will NOT let him win.

Joshua 24:!5

As for me and my house we will serve the Lord.

I’m in an ok place today, and yesterday wasn’t too bad either. I spent yesterday with my mom for my birthday and then hubby and I saw a double feature at the movies. It was a little much for me, and I was so wiped I overslept and missed church, and today I haven’t done much of anything hid some eggs for the kids when they get home, and ate leftovers from my lunch from yesterday, and took a NICE LONGGGGG nap. No one can argue that’s a good way to spend a Sunday.  Tomorrow it’s back to real life 😦 But I got some rest and relaxation the past couple days between appointments and stuff.

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

