I took a REAL look at myself in the mirror tonight…

When I was getting ready to shower I took a face selfie.  I looked at it, all my flaws, all my fat, my tired eyes despite 11 hours of sleep today. And then went to Facebook to post this –

I look at all the profile pics and cover photos and photo albums and I wonder who airbrushes or photoshops. I know everyone looks for the best pic of themselves. I just took a “real” selfie and for a minute thought about making it my profile pic – but then what would you all think about me? 

So I didn’t post it. The pic I have on my Facebook profile is a “good” pic of me and my hubby.  Before I gained 50lbs.  Before I became extremely depressed.  Before his back blew out and we lost the future we had planned.  I look like I’ve aged 20 years in less than a year.  But if I post it on my Facebook people will see the REAL me, the vulnerable me. 

If I didn’t want to stay so anonymous I’d post the pic here. 

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

