Well this surgery should be fun

I had my preop appointment today. Some of it I expected, some I didn’t. I didn’t expect to have to wear these pigeon toe booties to sleep in for 2-3 weeks after surgery.  I have to have a tube down my throat while I am in surgery. I can’t drive for 3 weeks, it’ll be 6 months before I can do any sort of exercise, for 3 months I can’t bend, squat, crawl or kneel.  I can’t stand for any prolonged period of time for 2-3 months.

This surgery is a lot more involved than I expected, but I am still not regretting it.  I want my life back. I want this pain to stop.  He plans to fix the tear in the labrum, the impingement (Hip impingement, also known as femoroacetabular impingement (FAI), is a condition in which there is abnormal and wearing contact between the ball and socket of the hip joint. The result is increased friction during hip movements that may damage the joint.) As well as a lengthening of the psoas tendon (It is encompassed within the spectrum of snapping hip syndrome [1]. Iliopsoas tendinitis can be a cause of the less common, internal snapping hip syndrome [2]. … One operation involves lengthening the psoas muscle tendon accomplished by the step cutting of the tendinous portion of the iliopsoas ).  Sounds like a lot of fun, at least I will have percocet for pain.

Once this recover is done, I will be going for the carpal tunnel surgery. I am planning on trying to get my life in order before I turn 40, my dad is 57 years old, he’s back in the hospital with a clot in the fissula that allows him to get dialysis, and he’s facing another amputation this time of one of his fingers.  I want something different for my life.

I am exhausted, it’s been a very long day, my anxiety has been through the roof, and I have been feeling dizzy and off all day. I had to take 2 showers today because of my OCD…. So just a short post tonight.

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

