Father’s Day

Father’s Day brings a sort of division in my mind. First and foremost the honoring of my husband as a father.  That’s the easy part.  He’s a wonderful father, husband, caretaker, and friend.  He is the best of everything.  I love him more than life itself. So a day to honor him, I think it’s perfect.  In fact I bought him his dream knife for Father’s Day- a Benchmade Osborne.  His reaction was perfect “you bought a Benchmade?”  His face was lit up like kid at Christmas.   I knew I had done good, and I hoped that he realized I did that because he is the most wonderful partner.  Especially lately, he has been taking such good care of me, I can’t even begin to thank him, there are no words that I could use to express my gratitude.

The other side is honoring my own father.  It’s hard to honor a man who hasn’t been much of the kind of father I wanted and needed in my life.  But on the other hand he is my father.  And as much as I want to hate him for what he’s done to me I don’t – I love him because he’s my father.

But I do have a man in my life that has been a father to me for about 20 years.  When my mother and father split up my mother became in involved with a man she had known her whole life, a man who was her “boyfriend” when she was a little girl.  This man has been a wonderful father to me.  He has done all the things a father does.  He has given me tough love, and sensitive love.  He’s been there to catch me when I fall as well as let me fall to find my own way and make my own mistakes.  He didn’t have to do any of this. I am no blood relation to him, but he CHOSE me to be HIS daughter not just the daughter of the woman he loves.  I hope that he knows how much I love and appreciate him. He is not my “step father” he is my “dad”.

So to all the dads out there, awesome dads, men who tried but came short as fathers, and men who didn’t have to be dad’s to little girls and boys that came into their lives, Happy Father’s Day.  And of course Happy Father’s Day to my Heavenly Father who knew me before I was formed.

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

1 thought on “Father’s Day”

Leave a Reply

