Sticks and stones….

“I’ve never seen you this big”.  Those words have been echoing through my head all week.  They were said to me by my mother-in-law last week.  We were discussing my mental health, my probable thyroid problem, the effect all these different medications as well as my hip injury has had on my body.  At the time I told her it wasn’t true, but the next day I was weighed at the dr and was up 12 pounds in 2 weeks…. so it was true.  I wasn’t even this big when I delivered my daughter.

Next to our toilet is a vanity with a very large mirror.  So everytime you stand up to rearrange your clothes you get a good look at your side profile.  Needless to say that’s what brought those words flooding to the front of my brain just now.  “I’ve never seen you this big”.  I’ve never seen me this big, and I don’t see any signs of my weight slowing down any.

One of my friends is running a Bible study for food addiction and freeing yourself from the bondage of food.  And I had been considering joining, though the timing seems off with hip surgery and not even being able to walk (like exercise walk) for 6 months, with my hand surgeries coming up.  I just felt like maybe I should do it.  I prayed about it, and I got this distinct and final answer “not now. focus elsewhere more important. wait”.  When I get words like that from the Holy Spirit I know better than to ignore them.

So I will live with my weight.  I will live with getting bigger.  I will sit out this study, and I will wait for His time, because His timing is perfect.

Until next time.

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

