Scared/Nervous

By the time this post in the morning it’ll probably be nothing. But I’m starting a new med tonight Trileptal, I made my son tried about a year ago and got a severe rash from. Googling the side effects and reading the patient education that my psychiatric doctor a.k.a. Mary Poppins gave me scares me, if you read the side effects on Google or even the patient information leaflet she handed me the side effects can be scary. And since I still suffer with anxiety it makes it even worse to think of all the different things that can go wrong-add to that the fact that my son had a reaction, makes me concerned about myself.

I just keep trying to remember that he is allergic to penicillin and I’m not so there’s no reason to believe that I would have the same reaction. The reason the reaction is so scary is that this type of medication can cause Stevens Johnson syndrome which apparently can be fatal. So of course my brain is running faster than I can keep up with all the side effects and worries and what ifs. 

But I’m going to set us to post in the morning so that when it posts I can look at it and post an update that I’m fine and that it’s just my anxiety running away with me again. 

Until next time….

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

