Fallow Garden

As I look outside I see my main garden the plants /weeds are probably taller than me.  It’s all weeds, though a couple onions came back this year…

My herb garden has some live plants that carry on from year to year- mint, chives,  the rest is barren, just plain earth.  

It reminds me so much of my life right now.  There are a couple good things (onions) mixed among the multitude of weeds.  There’s barren land.  You can barely see the onions but if you were to pull up some of the weeds, you might find some gorgeous onions or maybe some rotten ones.  But I think I’m scared to up the weeds- what might I find?  If it’s just the rotten onions then what does that mean?  If it’s healthy onions I know there’s still hope that after this season of fallow there will be harvest again.  But if they are rotten? Is there hope?

And why don’t I harvest the chives and the mint, why don’t I cultivate it, the positive, and enjoy it?  It seems like so much work and effort. 

All of this seems such a metaphor for my life right now. I can only hope if I send hubby out to pull an onion a nice healthy one with flavor and smell. 

Author: thethingswehideinside

Im an almost 40 year old mom struggling through this life with two children, a husband, a houseful of animals. We all have mental or physical challenges that make daily life even harder, this is our journey.

Leave a Reply

